The Best of Couple Money – 2012 Edition

Post image for The Best of Couple Money – 2012 Edition

by Elle Martinez · 0 comments

As I’m working on some bigger posts for next week and beyond, I wanted to take a moment to say thank you for a wonderful year.

As a way to wind down this year, I wanted to share some popular and my favorite posts of 2012 here on Couple Money:

January 2012

One of the big highlights of January was getting My Financial Reviews up and running. One of my goals is to maintain the resourcefulness of Couple Money for my readers, while introducing them to sites, products, and services which may be of interest to them. I get so many requests for reviews that if I responded to all of them, this site’s focus on helping couples manage money together would be buried in reviews.

I decided to make My financial Reviews kind of a spin-off site where you can go to get more detailed reviews. I’ll highlight them with a link here on the site so you can find them, but if you’re not interested in it, then you can skip over and get the money tips you need here.

  • What’s Taxable Income?-> Is that an inviting title to get you reading? I think for next year writing better post titles will be on my to-do list. Anyways January is the start of the tax season and being a contributing writer at TurboTax means it’s on my mind from January to April. Make sure you get your taxes done correctly and take advantage of all the tax credits & deductions that you’re eligible for.
  • Android Tablet Shopping Guide-> I love my tablet and use it quite a bit for work and fun. Since so many people were asking me how I picked the right one for me, I shared some tips and specs of popular ones in this post. Rigth now I’m recommending Google Nexus 7 for most people.
  • Don’t Let Others Manage Your Money-> Honestly one one is going to care or know about your family’s finances like you do. While consulting experts makes sense, it doesn’t relieve of your responsibility to watch your cash.

February 2012

Planning was the name of the game in February. I wanted to tackle getting our wills updated and our life insurance increased this month, but it took longer than I expected.

  • Choosing Legal Guardians for Our Baby-> We spent a good part of February figuring out who would be best as guardians for our little one. It’s a tough choice as we had many factors to consider. We’re grateful with who we picked and especially that they said yes.
  • Do You Have a Car Emergency Kit?-> Taking care of your family means more than just watching the finances. Safety is important and having a car kit for emergencies can help.
  • Betterment Just Got Better -> If you’re looking for a low cost, low hassle way to invest, Betterment is a great option. In February they lowered their fees even, making them competitive. Get a $25 Account Bonus when you sign up for Betterment.

March 2012

As we approached our savings goal, we hunted for a family sized sedan, checking out dealerships and private sellers.

April 2012 calculate financial progress

We bought the car in April and so we’ve enjoyed it quite a bit. We spent the next couple of months building our savings back up.
  • Paying Off Debt as a Couple-> I love getting reader questions. It’s a chance not only to see how others handle their finances, but it’s an opportunity for you guys to jump in and give some wonderful tips. I would love to do more of these in 2013.
  • Buying a Car from a Private Seller-> We share how we found the right car for us and the process of buying from a private seller.

May 2012

The year started to pick up and I started to find ways to save money. I ran a Fuel Challenge in May and had a blast.

June 2012

Summer was a lot of fun this year and we had a fantastic time at the family reunion.

  • Automating Bill Pay – The Pros and the Cons-> We have automated our bill payments for years and it has been quite helpful. However that doesn’t mean yo’re off the hook – you still have to check-in once in awhile to keep everything running smoothly.
  • Getting a Spouse on Board with Finances -> Another good money question discussed on here on couple Money. How do you motivate your spouse to be on the same page with finances?

July 2012

With half the year down and the weather good, we started doing more weekend trips as a family.

August 2012

We had a trip up to the mountains in August that we LOVED! Not only did we see friends, we got some incredible views and relaxation.

September 2012

September was another fun month as we went over to the Financial Blogger Conference and got to check out Denver for a about week. Met some great  bloggers in person and just learned a ton of stuff from others, including Liz Weston and Donna Freedman.

October 2012

We got a chance to relax. We had a very low key month pretty much.

November 2012

Last month we went to visit family and our little one somehow became the ultimate stair climber.

  • Do You Have Job Loss Emergency Plan?-> No one wants this to happen to them, but a little preparation is can go a long way making this an easier transition should this come up.
  • Retire Sooner by Growing the Gap-> It’s possible to get your finances squared away by tacking both sides of the personal finance mantra “spending less that your earn”.

December 2012

We ended this year with a family trip to Florida to celebrate our anniversary.

Thoughts on Favorites in 2012

Thank you again for a fantastic year! Reviewing some of the posts from this year was so much fun. I’d love to hear from you. Which are your favorite Couple Money posts from 2012 and why? Any topics you’d like to see tackled here in 2013?

Photo Credit: party and Dave Dugdale

About Elle Martinez
Elle Martinez helps families at Couple Money achieve financial freedom by sharing tips for reducing debt, increase income, and building net worth. Learn how to live on one income and have fun with the second..

Follow me on Twitter · Visit my website →






Enjoy reading this post? You'll Love the Newsletter!

Enter your email address below, and I’ll send you the latest post from Couple Money to your inbox, free.




I take your privacy very seriously and will not share your email.

Previous post:

Next post: